

SALT LAKE COUNTY



Legislation Text

File #: 23-0883, Version: 1

Requested Agenda Date:

9/26/2023

Requested Agenda Title:

Consideration of a Resolution of the Salt Lake County Council Approving and Authorizing the Execution of an Interlocal Cooperation Agreement with the Town of Alta, Town of Brighton, Bluffdale City, Copperton Metro Township, Cottonwood Heights City, Draper City, Emigration Canyon Metro Township, Holladay City, Kearns Metro Township, Magna Metro Township, Midvale City Corp., City Of Millcreek, Murray City, Riverton City, City of South Salt Lake, And White City Metro Township Relating to the Conduct of the Community Development Block Grant Program, Emergency Solutions Grant Program, And The Home Investment Partnership Program, and Approving and Authorizing the Execution of an Interlocal Cooperation Agreement with Herriman City for the County to Administer Herriman City's CDBG Funds, and Joint Request from the County and Herriman City to HUD Establishing their Relationship with Respect to the Administration of Herriman City's CDBG Funds.

Requested Agenda Item Description: This is an updated agreement to the interlocal that was approved on July 18th. Revisions are necessary due to a recent change in entitlement status for Herriman City, which has changed the parties to the Urban County agreement. Salt Lake County is designated as an Urban County for the Administration of the Community Development Block Grant (CDBG). This is done in cooperation with the cities and towns within Salt Lake County that do not receive direct appropriations from Housing and Urban Development (HUD). Every three years the county must recertify as an Urban County and provide documentation on which cities and towns are involved in the three-year recertification. The interlocal agreement outlines the terms and conditions for the next three-year period (program years 2024-2026). Each City and town will reaffirm by resolution their participation in the Urban County.

Requested Action: Discussion - Vote Needed

Presenter(s) (with titles): Dina Blaes, Director of the Office of Regional Development; Karen Kuipers,

Community Development Manager - Housing and Community Development

Time Needed: 10 MINS

Is this Item Time-Sensitive and/or Requesting a Time-Certain? Yes and I will send the request in writing

Requesting Staff Member: Karen Kuipers

Are Supporting Documents Needed for this Agenda Item Request? Yes

The attached Interlocal Agreement represents the UPDATED documents to be submitted for Council review and approval. Due to a recent change in the entitlement status of Herriman City, the interlocal agreement had

File #: 23-0883, Version: 1

to be updated and is due back to HUD prior to September 30th, resulting in a time crunch to get all signature pages prior to the Salt Lake County Council meeting on September 26th. The signature pages of nine cities (Alta, Copperton Metro Township, Cottonwood Heights, Emigration Canyon Metro Township, Holladay City, Kearns Metro Township, Magna Metro Township, Midvale City, and White City) will not be available until the week of September 25th, and currently reflect unsigned pages as placeholders. The attached Interlocal Agreement document will be updated with signatures on pages 12, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, and 27 prior to the September 26 Council meeting.

Supporting Documentation:

Since 1984, Salt Lake County has been classified as an Urban County for purposes of administering the Community Development Block Grant program (CDBG). As an Urban County, Salt Lake County receives an allocation of funding from HUD and administers the CDBG program which provides services to the residents of the Urban County. This process includes representatives from the smaller cities who are members of the allocation committees that review and make recommendations for the use of the CDBG funds.

The Urban County classification requires an interlocal agreement with the other cities and towns in the county that are not entitlement cities, per the federal Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). Entitlement cities are jurisdictions that qualify to receive their funds directly from HUD, based on populations over 50,000.

Every three years, Salt Lake County must recertify to remain an Urban County. The next renewal period is for federal fiscal years 2024-2026, which covers the program years for the period July 2024 through June 2027. This process involves contacting each city and asking them if they want to remain a member of the Urban County. That notification process occurred in June of 2023 for this renewal period and <u>originally</u> all cities and towns agreed to remain a part of the Urban County. HOWEVER, subsequent to the submission of the executed agreement to HUD on July 28th, HUD sent new notification letters to potential new entitlement jurisdictions (jurisdictions that exceed 50,000 residents). Millcreek, Herriman, Draper, and Murray were advised on between August 24th and August 29th that they had a new option of either electing to accept entitlement status and leave the Urban County, or to defer their entitlement status and therefore choose to remain in the Urban County. Millcreek, Draper, and Murray have opted to defer their entitlement status for federal fiscal years 2024-2026, and they will continue to participate in the Salt Lake Urban County. However, Herriman City has elected to accept its entitlement status and leave the Urban County, as reflected in the updated Interlocal Cooperation Agreement. All four cities will enter into separate joint agreements outlining the terms and conditions of the new roles of each pertaining to the administration of CDBG funds. Herriman will join the HOME consortium as outlined under a separate agenda item.

This request is time sensitive, as the deadline for submitting the new executed interlocal agreement to HUD is September 30, 2023. The HUD Field Office Counsel must complete review of agreements and authorizations, and then must certify that the County is eligible for the next year of CDBG funding which begins October 1, 2023.