## A RESOLUTION OF THE SALT LAKE COUNTY COUNCIL DECLARING SALT LAKE COUNTY'S INTENT TO PARTICIPATE IN THE UTAH COMMUNITY RENEWABLE ENGERGY ACT

WHEREAS, the 2019 Utah Legislature passed, and Governor Gary Herbert signed, H.B. 411, Community Renewable Energy Act, Utah Code Ann. § 54-17-901, et seq., ("the Act");

WHEREAS, the Act authorizes the Utah Public Service Commission to establish a community renewable energy program whereby counties, acting on behalf of their residents in the unincorporated area of the county, may cooperate with qualified utilities to provide electric energy for participating customers entirely from renewable energy resources; and

WHEREAS, the Act requires participating counties to adopt a resolution no later than December 31, 2019, that states a goal of achieving an amount equivalent to 100% of the annual electric energy supply for participating customers from a renewable energy resource by 2030; and

WHEREAS, it is in the interest of Salt Lake County and its residents to participate in the Act, and to state and affirm such a goal;

NOW, THEREFORE, be it resolved by the Salt Lake County Council that Salt Lake County shall:

- Establish a goal of achieving an amount equivalent to 100% of the annual electric energy supply for participating customers in the unincorporated county from a renewable energy resource by 2030; and
- Pending program approval and development by the Utah Public Service Commission, begin the process of fulfilling the Act's program requirements as described in Utah

Code Ann. § 54-17-903, including entering into an agreement with a qualified utility,

and adopting an ordinance approving the program.

DATED this \_\_\_\_\_ day of \_\_\_\_\_\_, 2019.

## SALT LAKE COUNTY

By \_\_\_\_\_\_ Richard Snelgrove, Chairperson

ATTEST:

Salt Lake County Clerk

Voting:

Council Member Bradley voting \_\_\_\_\_ Council Member Bradshaw voting \_\_\_\_\_ Council Member Burdick voting Council Member DeBry voting \_\_\_\_\_ Council Member Ghorbani voting \_\_\_\_\_ Council Member Granato voting Council Member Jensen voting Council Member Snelgrove voting \_\_\_\_ Council Member Winder Newton voting \_\_\_\_\_