SALT LAKE COUNTY COUNCIL RESOLUTION

RESOLUTION NO. _____

DATE:

A RESOLUTION OF THE SALT LAKE COUNTY COUNCIL CREATING VOTER PARTICIPATION AREAS AS REQUIRED BY § 20A-7-401.3.

BACKGROUND

1. Utah Code Annotated § 20A-7-401.3 requires Salt Lake County to create voter participation areas for purposes of the local initiative process and the local referendum process;

2. Utah law provides that a county that has established council districts, that are not at large districts, may use those council districts as voter participation areas under § 20A-7-401.3(2)(b);

3. The Salt Lake County Council has established six contiguous council districts that are compact and of substantially equal population;

4. For a county of the first class, an eligible voter seeking to have an initiative submitted to a local legislative body or to a vote of the people for approval or rejection will be required to obtain signatures equal to 7.75% of the number of active voters in the county and, beginning on January 1, 2020, 7.75% of the number of active voters in at least 75% of the county's voter participation areas;

5. For a county of the first class, and for a proposed law other than a proposed land use law, local obligation law, or for certain proposed taxes or assessments in a sub-jurisdiction, an eligible voter seeking to have a local law passed by the local legislative body submitted to a vote of the people shall obtain legal signatures equal to 7.75% of the number of active voters in the county and, beginning on January 1, 2020, 7.75% of the number of active voters in at least 75% of the county's voter participation areas;

6. For a county of the first class, and for a land use law or local obligation law, an eligible voter seeking to have a local law passed by the local legislative body submitted to a vote of the people shall obtain legal signatures equal to 16% of the number of active voters in the county and, beginning on January 1, 2020, 16% of the number of active voters in at least 75% of the county's voter participation areas;

7. For a county of the first class, and for a sub-jurisdictional law passed by the local legislative body, a person seeking to have that law submitted to a vote of the people shall obtain legal signatures of the residents in the sub-jurisdiction equal to:

(a) 10% of the number of active voters in the sub-jurisdiction if the number of active voters exceeds 25,000;

(b) $12-\frac{1}{2}$ % of the number of active voters in the sub-jurisdiction if the number of active voters does not exceed 25,000 but is more than 10,000;

(c) 15% of the number of active voters in the sub-jurisdiction if the number of active voters does not exceed 10,000 but is more than 2,500;

(d) 20% of the number of active voters in the sub-jurisdiction if the number of active voters does not exceed 2,500 but is more than 500;

(e) 25% of the number of active voters in the sub-jurisdiction if the number of active voters does not exceed 500 but is more than 250; and

(f) 30% of the number of active voters in the sub-jurisdiction if the number of active voters does not exceed 250; and

8. The Salt Lake County Council has determined that the six council districts are wellsuited to be voter participation areas for the purposes set forth in the Utah Election Code and have elected to establish voter participation areas as set forth herein.

NOW THEREFORE, the Salt Lake County Council hereby resolves:

1. That Salt Lake County shall use the six Salt Lake County Council Districts as voter participation areas as permitted under Utah Code Annotated § 20A-7-401.3; and

2. The voter participation areas shall continue with the Council Districts if and when the Council Districts change pursuant to reapportionment under the Salt Lake County Optional Plan § 2.04.

APPROVED and ADOPTED this _____ day of _____, 2019.

SALT LAKE COUNTY COUNCIL

By:___

Richard Snelgrove, Chair

ATTEST:

Sherrie Swensen Salt Lake County Clerk APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Deputy District Attorney

Date:_____

VOTING

Council Member Bradley voting	
Council Member Bradshaw voting	
Council Member Burdick voting	
Council Member DeBry voting	
Council Member Ghorbani voting	
Council Member Granato voting	
Council Member Jensen voting	
Council Member Newton voting	
Council Member Snelgrove voting	